New Zealand Buddhist Chaplains

Update: 3rd August, 2020

For over 2,500 years Buddhists have contemplated sickness, old age and death to understand suffering and find an end to it. Buddhist practitioners therefore value sickness, old age, death and other transitions as opportunities for spiritual insight and growth. Buddhist chaplains are trained to accompany people through such difficult times, working in hospitals, hospices, universities, prisons and other facilities.

By supporting a person suffering in a difficult situation with skillful inquiry, guided meditation and/or prayers, the total pain (physical, mental, emotional and spiritual) a person experiences is skillfully and compassionately addressed. With the help of a spiritual friend the person is better able to find their own inner resources to handle what is happening, moment by moment.

NZBC and Amitabha Hospice have complete confidence that these NZ Buddhist Hospice / Healthcare Chaplains can be employed to facilitate a person’s mental comfort by helping the person use their own beliefs to investigate their concerns and gain strength and resilience in the midst of a health crisis.

*Please substitute @ for (at). We list email addresses in this way to avoid spambots.

The following are qualified NZ Buddhist Hospice / Healthcare Chaplains:
Auckland
Amala Wrightson, Sensei: amala(at)aucklandzen.org.nz
Ecie Hursthouse: eciely(at)gmail.com
Marion Feasey: marionfeasey(at)gmail.com
Rukman Wagachchi: rukmanw(at)gmail.com
Colville, Coromandel
Venerable Thubten Khadrothubtenkhadrola(at)gmail.com
Christchurch
Hanya Gallagher: h.gallagher61(at)gmail.com
Jane Ross: jane(at)mjaneross.com
Julie Downard: angulijulie(at)gmail.com
Lea Godfrey: leagodfrey4(at)gmail.com
Wilhelmina Flick: wilhelmina.flick(at)gmail.com
Helensville, Auckland
Heather Kempton: kemptonhm(at)gmail.com
Mahurangi West, Auckland
Annie McMullen: annie_mcmullen(at)hotmail.com
Nelson
Diane Johnston: dianelittletree(at)hotmail.com
Taupo
Deirdre Savage: deirdresavage7(at)gmail.com
Wellington
Jiko McIntosh: jikomc(at)gmail.com
Satyadevi Barrett: satyad3v1(at)gmail.com
Whangarei
Graeme Stuart Cleaver: gscleaver(at)xtra.co.nz
Apprentice Buddhist Chaplains

In 2013 the New Zealand Buddhist Council and Amitabha Hospice started training well-vetted applicants to become Buddhist Hospice / Healthcare Chaplains with a Level 1 course. The people on the list below have completed the Level 1 course and been accepted as Apprentice Buddhist Chaplains (ABCs).

If they want to pursue Tertiary or Prison Chaplaincy, they are required to complete a number of hours of supervised spiritual support in a hospice or medical setting and two written assignments before they are qualified to do Level 2, which teaches Tertiary and Prison Chaplaincy.

The ABCs who have completed the Level 1 course and the requirements of
supervised experience and the written documentation are qualified to work as NZ Buddhist Hospice / Healthcare Chaplains in hospices, hospitals or nursing homes.

NZ Apprentice Buddhist Chaplains may be contacted by hospitals, hospices, nursing homes or privately. They will endeavour to address an individual’s own spiritual needs while fostering a peaceful environment and maintaining strict confidentiality.

The following are Apprentice Buddhist Chaplains
Auckland
Anjalee Pieries: vinoanj1(at)yahoo.com
Conny Krebs: conny.krebs(at)gmail.com
Hean Tan: heantan21(at)gmail.com
Karunajoti Grace: karunajoti(at)aucklandbuddhistcentre.org
Steph Madenholt-Titley: stephmt(at)xtra.co.nz
Venerable Sumana: ven.sumanasiri(at)gmail.com
Christchurch
Erin Lummis: erinlummis34(at)gmail.com
Dunedin
Angela Dempster-Passang: angeladempster(at)gmail.com
Drolma Simpson: drolmasimpson(at)gmail.com
Gisborne
Lassara Hall: lassara.com(at)live.com.au
Invercargill
Venerable Sudchai Lekkratok: sogood27(at)hotmail.com
Levin
Deb Moran: deb.moran(at)gmail.com
Nelson
Ramona Clark: ramonaclarknelson(at)gmail.com
Wayne Frecklington: waynefreck(at)gmail.com
Napier
Clare Woodham: clarewoodham(at)gmail.com
Gail Wright: janga1996(at)gmail.com
Jan Crawford: janga1996(at)gmail.com
New Plymouth
Teresa Goodin: teresagoodin(at)xtra.co.nz
Rotoroa
Geoff Gensei Moore: wrotelearning(at)gmail.com
Thames (NZ)
Diane Prajnalila Quin: prajnalila(at)xtra.co.nz
Wellington
Derek LeDayn: derek.ledayn(at)gmail.com
Janice Hill:janicefayhill(at)gmail.com
Whanganui
Laura Cheung: laura_cheung1498(at)hotmail.com
Tejomani Earl: tejomaniearl17(at)gmail.com
Colombia (South America)
Corina Nino: corinanino33(at)gmail.com
Oxford (UK)
Jude Bennett: judebennett51(at)googlemail.com