New Zealand Buddhist Chaplains

New Zealand Buddhist Chaplains

For 2,500 years Buddhists have contemplated sickness, old age and death to understand suffering and find an end to it. Buddhist practitioners therefore value sickness, old age, death and other transitions as opportunities for spiritual insight and growth. Buddhist chaplains are trained to accompany people through such difficult times, working in hospitals, hospices, schools prisons and other facilities. By supporting a person suffering in a difficult situation with skilful inquiry, guided meditation and/or prayers, the total pain (physical, mental, emotional and spiritual) a person experiences is skillfully and compassionately addressed. With the help of a spiritual friend the person is better able to find the inner resources to deal with what is happening to him or her, moment by moment.

The 2018 course has been moved from June to August. It starts on Friday 3rd August and ends on Sunday 5th August, from 9:30 am to 4:30 pm each day. Venue: Amitabha Hospice, 44 Powell St, Avondale, Auckland.  More information here.

The following people are experienced Buddhist Chaplains who supervise the NZ Apprentice Buddhist Chaplains and were some of the tutors of the Level 1 Buddhist Chaplaincy course:

Ecie Hursthouse
eciely(at)gmail.com
Auckland

Amala Wrightson
amala(at)aucklandzen.org.nz
Auckland

Apprentice Buddhist Chaplains

In 2013 the New Zealand Buddhist Council and Amitabha Hospice started training well-vetted applicants to become Buddhist Chaplains with a Level 1 course. The people on the list below have completed the Level 1 course and been accepted as Apprentice Buddhist Chaplains. They will be required to complete a number of hours of supervised spiritual support in the community and an assignment before they qualify to do Level 2. After completion of these, there will be more requirements to complete before they can take the Level 3 course towards becoming a fully qualified NZ Buddhist Chaplain.

As Apprentice Buddhist Chaplains, the people listed below* can facilitate emotional comfort, support a troubled person’s own Buddhist practices and help the person use their own beliefs to investigate their concerns. These are resourceful people who have received training in listening skills. At this stage, they are trained for medical situations but not yet trained for schools or prisons, which will be covered in the next levels. An Apprentice Buddhist Chaplain may be contacted by hospitals, hospices, nursing homes or privately, with the assurance that they will endeavor to address an individual’s own spiritual needs while fostering a peaceful environment and maintaining strict confidentiality.

*Please substitute @ for (at). We list email addresses in this way to avoid spambots.

Auckland

Anjalee Pieries: vinoanj1(at)yahoo.com

Conny Krebs: conny.krebs(at)gmail.com

Hean Tan: heantan21(at)gmail.com

Heather Buttle: H.Buttle(at)massey.ac.nz

Helen Gallagher: h.gallagher61(at)gmail.com

Joop van Herk: joop(at)ak.planet.gen.nz

Karunajoti Grace: karunajoti(at)aucklandbuddhistcentre.org

Marion Feasey: marionfeasey(at)gmail.com

Rukman Wagachchi: rukmanw(at)gmail.com

Steph Madenholt-Titley: stephmt(at)xtra.co.nz

Teresa Behrens: chalicenz(at)yahoo.co.nz

Venerable Sumana: ven.sumanasiri(at)gmail.com

Coromandel / Colville

Venerable Nangsel: director(at)mahamudra.org.nz

Christchurch

Erin Lummis: erinlummis(at)paradise.net.nz

Geoff Gensei Moore: wrotelearning(at)gmail.com

Jane Ross: jane(at)mjaneross.com

Julie Downard: angulijulie(at)gmail.com

Lea Godfrey: leagodfrey4(at)gmail.com

Wilhelmina Flick: wilhelmina.flick(at)gmail.com

Dunedin

Angela Dempster-Passang: angeladempster(at)gmail.com

Drolma Simpson: drolma.simpson(at)yahoo.co.nz

Sue Latimer: lantern2see(at)xtra.co.nz

Gisborne

Lassara Hall lassara.com(at)live.com.au

Invercargill

Venerable Sudchai Lekkratok: sogood27(at)hotmail.com

Levin

Deb Moran: deb.moran(at)gmail.com

Napier

Clare Woodham: clarewoodham(at)gmail.com

Gail Wright: janga(at)es.co.nz

Jan Crawford: janga(at)ihug.co.nz

Nelson

Diane Johnston: dianelittletree(at)hotmail.com

Ramona Clark: ramonaclarknelson(at)gmail.com

Wayne Frecklington: waynefreck(at)gmail.com

New Plymouth

Teresa Goodin: teresagoodin(at)xtra.co.nz

Taupo

Deirdre Savage: deirdresavage7(at)gmail.com

Thames (NZ)

Diane Prajnalila Quin: prajnalila(at)xtra.co.nz

Warkworth/Mahurangi

Annie McMullen: annie_mcmullen(at)hotmail.com

Wellington

Janice Hill: janicefayhill(at)gmail.com

Derek LeDayn: derek.ledayn(at)gmail.com

Rosalind Jiko McIntosh: jikomc(at)gmail.com

Satyadevi Barrett: satyad3v1(at)gmail.com

Whanganui

Laura Cheung: laura_cheung1498(at)hotmail.com

Tejomani Earl: tejomani(at)vodafone.co.nz

Whangarei

Graeme Cleaver: gscleaver(at)xtra.co.nz

Colombia (South America)

Corina Nino: corinanino33(at)gmail.com

Oxford (UK)

Jude Bennett: judebennett51(at)googlemail.com